Customer Reviews

We are always trying our hardest at Guardians Vault Australia to bring you the highest quality service, beautiful blades & prices to match - Heres what our customers are saying:

  

Great!

Product: GVA Kengo Hogosha Naginata
Posted By: Edwin Miao 22nd Jul 2019

When I first saw the naginata on the website, I was disappointed with the length, which measured as 195cm. Compared with HanWei naginata, there was not much difference. I discussed this with Dan, the head of this company, and he suggested he design a new naginata measured at 215-220cm as I requested. After receiving this new naginata, I am finding that it works well, and has strong shaft and sharp blade. It is similar to the products used in ancient years. I recommend serious martial arts practitioners have this real naginata.

 

 

Custom Engraving

Product: Custom Engraving Kanji / English
Posted By: Paul 15th Jul 2019

I am very happy with the engraving. It really personalize the blade. Very professionally done. Thanks. Paul

 

Utsukushi Ha 5 Star Review

 Posted by Paul on 11th Jul 2019

 I love the workmanship in creating the sword. Exceeded my expectations and thank you Dan. Look forward to ordering the next blade soon.

 

 excellent quality!!! 5 Star Review

Posted by Reilly Ford on 13th Oct 2018

 I've had my Naginata for a few months now & its held up very well.

The steel is very good & the edge is very sharp, it handles great & the shaft is well made.

Definitely worth the price

 

 Awesome Armour 5 Star Review

Posted by Andrew San on 14th Aug 2018

I have always wanted my own samurai armour and finally thanks to Dans effort I have my own Sanada Yukimura armour. Its an awesome piece of quality craftsmanship. I am so happy with this purchase, the wait was definitely worth it.
From my first contact with Dan his customer service was unreal. In his email correspondence you could feel the passion he has and how hard he works behind the scenes. He was determined to make sure I got the quality armour he believes in.
Dan was always willing to help no matter what I asked him. He was a pleasure to deal with.I highly recommend Guardians Vault Australia. You rock! Job well done! Awesome!
I am now looking forward to my next order with them.

 

Beautiful Sword. Amazing Service.5 Star Review

Posted by Jason McMillan on 18th Jul 2018

Couldn't be happier with my purchase. The 'Kurayami' is a beautiful sword, with a truly unique look & the customer service from Dan & Guardians Vault was second to none.

This is my first decent katana & since I have no martial arts training it is going to be an ornamental piece for me. I am amazed at its quality, I'm no expert but the sword & it's fittings are obviously well made. The Ito & Sageo wraps are tight, the sword fits tightly in its Saya with no rattle, & there is a satisfying click as you push the sword in or out accordingly. I really recommend anyone pay extra for the wooden storage box as I did, it's almost as nice as the sword itself.

There was a delay in delivery as the forge sent my order to Austria instead of Australia, but Dan took it upon himself to commission a new blade to be made at his own expense so the wait would be minimised. That's the kind of service you'll get from this guy, just exemplary, & he is happy to correspond via email with you throughout the process regardless of what additional queries you may have.

You might be thinking (as I was) of going directly to the forge with a potential order to save some money. I made the decision to support Dan & Guardians Vault with my purchase because of the peace of mind that comes with dealing through a business that does this regularly. No hassles with customs, excellent customer service, & a beautiful sword at the end of the transaction. Well worth the money spent. Thank you Dan & Guardians Vault Australia.

 

 Terrific Quality 5 Star Review

Posted by Steve on 19th Feb 2018

Everything from the conversations with Dan to the quality of the scroll were fantastic. I would recommend this to anyone that wants an authentic Japanese product and appreciates great customer service.

  

Amazing Craftsmenship 5 Star Review

Posted by Nathanael Chapman on 13th Feb 2018

I am writing on behalf of a friend who is a member of our historical reenactment group, Sengoku No Bushido. Our group strongly supports Daniel's business not just because he is an amazingly dedicated guy, but also because he makes authentic and amazing stuff!

As a historical reenactor I have seen many kinds of blades, and I have to say this one is an absolute masterpiece. If he has it handy, my friend shows it off constantly and it is easy to see why. The balance of this blade is incredible! It just WANTS to hit something! The blade is heavier than it feels, and the masterwork construction of the blade is the reason for this. The work of the folded steel and the sharpening was wonderfully done, and the we didn't have to wait long at all for it to be made and posted. The engravings on the pommel and the tsuba are also to be highly commended, absolutely amazing work!

Daniel is a pleasure to do business with and many other businesses should do a crash course with him.

  

Fantastic and Authentic Garment 4 Star Review

Posted by Nathanael Chapman on 13th Feb 2018

I am the captain of a historical reenactment group that reenacts Japan in the mid to late 16th century, Sengoku No Bushido. Like all other living history groups, we can only use items that are 'document-able' and authentic. I have to say that these guys can really meet these requirements, and are more than happy to!

I have been dealing with Daniel for the past few months, perhaps a bit longer, and it has been an absolute pleasure. The only reason I have rated four sstars instead of five is because there was an issue with the material not being 100% natural material (all materials used for living history need to be authentic and 100% natural), and because the site did not previously mention this and in fact said 'silk or cotton' led to a good amount of confusion. I would only recommend that the site update that information specifically, however, knowing Daniel, I highly doubt that the issue was deliberate. I say this because Daniel was extremely accommodating and was a huge help throughout the process, sacrificing extra time so that ends met. Huge props to him!

Now onto the product itself. I will admit my needs were quite specific, however these guys were extremely accommodating and more than happy to meet the requirements I needed. I am more than happy to say that, as a historical reenactor, I can prove that is indeed an accurate and authentic reconstruction of clothing from the period. If you disagree with me or want to know how this garment is indeed historically accurate, I am more than happy to discuss that with you over the phone ;) The sewing work is incredibly precise, and the silk material with the embroideries are nothing short of the work of a master! (as a reenactor, I have seen some pretty amazing recreations of clothes). In short, if you want to get historically authentic gear, this is the place to get it!

The connection and determination Daniel has with his business is absolutely remarkable and is nothing short of commendable! I guarantee that you will find it extremely difficult to find another business like this one that is run by such a passionate, hard-working, and accommodating individual.

  

great product 5 Star Review

Posted by david.ludlow@ap.jll.com on 22nd Dec 2017

Really well built. True to the pics and looks brilliant on display.

  

 Wow wow wow... 5 Star Review

 Posted by Will on 12th Dec 2017

 Absolutely stunning sword for the price point, actually for any price point in my opinion.

The balance and weight of the blade are just right, allowing for both significant control and power in swing, and the artistic value of the sword is amazing...

Extremely pleased and will definitely buy again.

  

 Very Good 5 Star Review

Posted by Reilly on 4th Nov 2017

This is a great piece!!!
I'm very happy with it!!!
The level of quality & attention to detail is outstanding!!!
Worth every $$$

  

Absolutely Impeccable from contact to delivery 5 Star Review

Posted by shane roberts on 5th Aug 2017

I am unable to rate my experience with Dan & Guardians Vault high enough. The service, information & help Dan provided was way above and beyond any expectations one could have. It's rare to deal with someone so honourable and passionate. Thank you Dan.

The Kurayami is an awesome katana, I was amazed by the look and quality when I first opened it. The care taken in packaging, attention to detail and craftsmanship is flawless and flowing. Brilliant design and balance when moving through the air for me, I love it. Stunning and beautiful.

  

Kurayami - highly recommended 5 Star Review

Posted by Alycia on 12th Jul 2017

I am utterly blown away with how amazing this sword is – beautifully constructed and presented, right down to the protective packaging it arrived in.

Nothing compares to the individuality of this Sword, the black blade is absolutely breathtaking.

Everyone that I have shown the sword to have had the same reaction, they cannot believe the attention to detail that has been put into this Katana!

Thank you Dan!!!

  

Utsukushii Ha 5 Star Review

 Posted by Peter Fitzgerald on 5th Jul 2017

 Just received my new Katana ,thanks Dan this is a beautiful sword,can't believe the quality,seen and handled many swords on trips to Asia and Japan the quality and feel of this sword is remarkable I've handled Katana in Japan that are 3 to 4 hundred years old. Made by master swords man and this is equal to any I've tried the weight and balance is truly amazing ,swords of this quality would cost 4 to 5 thousand AUD dollars in Japan. Thanks again very pleased (now looking for next one ) many thanks Pete

  

worth it 5 Star Review

Posted by Lochlan Lennox on 14th May 2017

Its is as much a piece of art as it is a functional sword. customer service is with a normal person which is a nice change. would recommend as no other sword in this price range I've seen has this level of visual appeal and still be a functioning sword. no regrets in getting it.

 

Amazing Sword 5 Star Review

Posted by Conrad Peleti on 13th Dec 2016

Amazing communication from the seller and excellent craftsmanship, Would recommend

 

Excellent blade 5 Star Review

Posted by Jeremy Cotter on 11th Nov 2016

Beautiful work and pure art...would buy from Guardians Vault again anytime...

 

kurayami 4 Star Review

Posted by LL on 5th Sep 2016

Love the look and feel, looking forward to comparing it to another pricier piece

 

A work of art 5 Star Review

Posted by Ben on 7th Jul 2016

Received the 'Utsukushii Ha' the other day. First thing I noticed was the care taken packaging the box. You guys went above and beyond to ensure it turned up pristine. The Guardians Vault custom box is very nice. Opening the box revealed the sword in its bag. This is my first sword but I've got to say the Utsukushii Ha really is a work of art.
Thanks Dan, I will be back for another in the not too distant future.

 

Under-stand-ing 5 Star Review

Posted by Pete on 2nd Mar 2016

Due to supplier issues, the dual tier stand wasn't available. Thanks for going to Plan B Dan, and providing me with a suitable alternative to hang my son's birthday Katana on ;-D

 

Indescribably good 5 Star Review

Posted by Pete on 2nd Mar 2016

I had my son's 21st birthday Katana inscribed with the name of his blade and the date - a special moment enshrined on a beautiful blade ;-D

 

Utsukushī ken 5 Star Review

Posted by Pete on 2nd Mar 2016

A simply stunning blade and scabbard. The workmanship and finish are excellent, as are the balance and detailing. All delivered with the excellent service, support and comms always provided by Dan and GVA. Bought this blade as a 21st gift for my son and it will surpass all his expectations - a thing of pure beauty ;-D

 

Utsukushii Ha 5 Star Review

Posted by Greg on 24th Dec 2015

This is a beautiful Katana.The detail and finish are superb.The deep rich finish of the Saya is quite amazing.In sunlight the seashell inlay catches the light and inside under display lights this this Katana would look like a piece of art.
Until the blade is drawn, with no Bo-hi the Utsukushii Ha is substantial and powerful while also being balanced and elegant.
Guardians are great to deal with, Dan has provided a standard of service from first contact to delivery that is 5 star and very personal and professional.

 

Beautiful sword 5 Star Review

Posted by CR on 23rd Dec 2015

This sword cost me about $100 more than my last one but is so much better. I love the attention to detail, it looks great :)

Lots of thought has obviously gone into the design.

Dan has been a pleasure to deal with throughout the process.

 

Awesome 5 Star Review

Posted by michael on 23rd Dec 2015

Dan was a pleasure to deal with and a real professional.
The blade came before Christmas and is beautiful. Can't wait to get a display stand to show it off.

Thanks heaps

 

Phoenix style katana 5 Star Review

Posted by D.F. on 22nd Dec 2015

Masterfully crafted, exceeded my expectations!
A lot of hard work and devotion went into this sword and it really shows!
It has a great feel and really looking forward to using this in kendo.
Would highly recommend this to any collector or sword enthusiast, Dan was great to work with, thanks for the awesome katana!

 

Fantastic workmanship 5 Star Review

Posted by Stewart Hill on 4th Dec 2015

Received my katana some time ago now. The service from Dan was some of the best I've seen in my life for online shopping. Personal service with a virtual smile :) The sword is amazing. While travelling Japan I didn't find anything I like and nothing came close to the quality and value of this katana.

 

Best Purchase Ever 5 Star Review

Posted by DPC on 13th Oct 2015

Extremely happy with my armour, its gorgeous, and has held up extremely well with my Live Action Battle gaming. Fits Great, i dont even know im wearing it.
Best Customer Service, 10/10 would buy again

 

Kurayami, a blade worthy of its name 5 Star Review

Posted by Phil on 22nd Jun 2015

This was the first time I have bought a Katana, so I was very paranoid on whether I would get some cheaply made product. However, upon enquiring about this with Dan I knew I had come to the right place. Anyway, I am truly impressed with the quality of this sword. It is a very beautiful and unique design, it's greatest feature being the black coloured carbon steel blade (and no it is not painted black) with the red streaks running through it. Fittings are snug and overall very well put together. I cannot find any fault with this blade. Thank you Dan for this beautiful work of art.

 

Designed to deliver 5 Star Review

Posted by Very Satisfied Customer on 20th May 2015

The custom engraving on my Katana make the blade unique, and forever mark the special day I purchased the sword to commemorate. Dan thanks very much for the flexibility, and creative input on the font - it helped make my blade unique and special.

 

Out-Stand-Ing 5 Star Review

Posted by Very Satisfied Customer - Anonymous due to gift :) on 20th May 2015

The stand Dan helped me source is perfect for my Katana and will help me display it in all its glory. Thanks Dan, the excellent service and support was very much appreciated.

 

Superb Sword and Service 5 Star Review

Posted by Very Satisfied Customer - Anonymous due to gift :) on 20th May 2015

What can I say, the service, communication and support Dan provides has been superb. Nothing has been too much trouble, and the finished blade is simply excellent. Hard to find reliable, courteous and friendly service these days, but Dan and GVA deliver on them all. A pleasure working with you on my Katana Dan, thank you very much mate!

 

Shin no nihonjin no seishin

Posted by Nenad Saflin on 17th Sep 2014

Dan was fantastic to deal with and went the extra mile to assist us with every detail. Rare to find this level of customer service outside of Japan.

The Custom Junsuina Momiji Katana is a stunning blade - beautiful to hold, well balanced and also quite unique and a lovely blade, especially if you're looking for something distinct and individual for tournaments, demos and exhibitions.

You will not be disappointed with either the quality of workmanship or the level of service.

Dōmo arigatōgozaimashita!

 

1st class product, 1st class service.

Posted by michael archer on 9th Sep 2014

Just received my new katana from Guardians Vault.From my initial enquiry with Dan, the customer service has been exemplary,always polite and prompt replies to all of my queries,nothing seems to be to much trouble for this company.The quality of their products is there to be seen, absolutely beautiful is the best description for my new katana and I'm already working on my next purchase!!

 

1st class product, 1st class service.

Posted by michael archer on 4th Sep 2014

Just received my new blade ,the 'Utsukishii Ha ' katana.
From the first email with Dan to my delivery today, my purchase with Guardians Vault has been handled in the most professional manner,updates with production,all my questions answered promptly and professionally and all made from a person that actually cares about his customers , this is not forgetting the 'beautiful edge' katana, what more could one add that hasn't already been said in other reviews
1st class blade ,1st class fittings ,1st class company . I'm already looking at my next purchase , don't tell the wife just yet !! Regards Michael A.

 

Beautiful katana

 Posted by Bob on 11th Apr 2014

 This piece is simply stunning. Beautifully forged and finished. Dan from Guardians Vault was helpful and kept me informed the whole way through the forging on the process . Would highly recommend people to purchase through Guardians Vault.

  

Beautiful sword, great experience

 Posted by Nic on 10th Feb 2014

 This is my first sword and I adore it. Well packaged, fast delivery and easy payment made for an easy purchase. Hats off to Dan for his fantastic advice, he was so helpful and a pleasure to deal with. Thanks so much.

 

 Legendary Oni

Posted by Unknown on 25th Sep 2013

This katana is beautiful it lived up to all of the expectations that i had. The detail in every little part is amazing. Defiantly an awesome katana.

 

 Red Warrior Katana

Posted by Larry on 5th Sep 2013

Very happy with our sword. The quality and finish are great and the service and communication from Dan was first class. Our Katana looks fantastic up on the wall and we can't resist un-sheathing it and weilding it around the living room. If I ever want another one I'll definitely buy it from Guardians Vault.

 

Perfect sword! Perfect service!

 Posted by Jeremy.M on 13th Aug 2013

 This blade is beyond any I have had the chance to hold and own myself.

It's weighted perfectly, its style is elegant and you can tell from the moment you see it, it has had an incredible amount of authentic effort and care put into its construction!

Everything about this sword reflects its authenticity and perfection, and it truly is beyond awesome!

Thankyou to Mr.Vickery for his lovely customer service and pleasant attitude and sharing this work of art with me at such a modest price!

 
 

Excellent!

Posted by aidan on 31st Jul 2013

Very good katana feels great in hand and an excellent price what a bargain for the quality of the katana!

 

Buy one... Then you'll understand.

Posted by Mick on 4th Jun 2013

Received this today... Service was amazing as usual dan! right down to the packaging, I mean come on guys, what more could you want. Top service, great packaging, amazing prices and to top it all off... What a fine blade it is, I mean... When I pulled this baby out.. All I can think about was how sexy this really is to hold. To appreciate this blade, you much appreciate the steel. That blade... Just screams kurayami. Thanks guardians vault and thanks again dan.. Once again.. Wow, my mind got blown :D

 

Spot on!

Posted by Steve on 16th May 2013

Just received ours and couldn't be happier. Via email we decided everything from paint colour to the font of our message on the front, and they made sure to do it just right. They really gave me my money's worth for this. Couldnt be happier!

 

Perfect!

Posted by Steve on 16th May 2013

It just arrived and boy is it a sight to behold. Beautifully crafted and weighted, and it arrived undamaged. Couldn't be happier :)

 

Exquisite perfection

Posted by Josh Ryan on 8th May 2013

I could not possibly be happier with my purchase from Guardians Vault. Dan was an absolute pleasure to deal with updating me regularly during the process of custom making my Katana. The sword itself could not be more beautiful, a perfect representation of what I had in mind when I made the intial purchase.A true display of expert level craftmanship. Anyone interested in buying a custom made practical or work of art Katana would do themselves a favor to buy from Guardians Vault. I look forward to buying from them again.

 

Katana - "Utsukushii Ha"

Posted by Michael J Duncanson on 26th Apr 2013

I had to write a review on the "Utsukushii Ha" - Beautiful Edge .....Custom Clay Tempered Samurai Katana. This Katana is amazing, In more ways than one. The workmanship, The fine detail, presentation, and amazing draw from the Saya is at the highest level of quality. The Saya is beautifully presented with shell embossing of birds etc.. I have bought the White Lightning and I rate that Katana extremely highly, However this Katana is the pinnacle of Katana's at the highest level, this company make and present there Katana's at the highest standard. No cheap imitations, Just the finest in all facets of this Katana, I recommend to the serious collector. I was even able to have my name engraved in Japanese on the blade, and on the other side of the blade in English the virtues I live my life by, The engraving is at the highest quality and has made my Katana unique in every way. I give this Katana a rating of 10 out of 10.

 

Loved it!

Posted by Sten E on 15th Apr 2013

Gorgeous Katana, battle ready, I gave it 4 stars only because it could have been made with folded steel.

Bought it as my first Katana and definitely not the last one from Guardians Vault.

Fast delivery / nicely packed.
..........................................................
GVA: Thankyou Sten , and thankyou for our fantastic facebook banner your designed for us - much appreciated :)

Just as a note to customers - this blade as are most are available in the folded steel format - just send a request before ordering and we can add the blade style of your choosing. Cheers . 

 

•Shiro Inazuma "White Lightning" - 1050CS / Hand Forged / Folded

Posted by Michael J Duncanson on 13th Mar 2013

This sword I would rate 5 stars, the workmanship is A1, down to the finest detail, I even had my name engraved on the blade in Japanese. The owner Dan was brilliant, every request I made he bent over backwards to ensure my requests were met to the best of his ability, he stayed in constant contact with me and kept me up to date on the progress of the Katana being made. With the changes I requested he has made this magnificant Katana unique. With the information I provided him he gained a sense of my personality and the Katana was forged to suit me. These swords are NOT your every day swords you see displayed in shop windows, the swords made by this company are painstakingly made with sheer passion by the sword smith. It was great dealing with this site where the customer is well informed with great communication, and the customer is well looked after, I will be getting another katana made by this company in the near future, this is how impressed I am, And I don't usually give feed back unless the item is A1. :) One very impressed customer thank you.

 

What an experience

Posted by Wayne F. on 19th Dec 2012

Right from the get go, I was spoiled with attention. Their service,advice and overall customer relations was excellent. Dan went over and above my expectations. Finally a company with some people skills.The product was superb and everything as it was described. Job well done.

 

Wish I could rate it higher!

Posted by ZSV on 5th Mar 2012

I've been looking forward to this sword for a about a month now and recieved it today. This sword is awesome! Everything about it is so appealing. This is my first Ninja-to Katana and I'm very pleased I made the purchase.
As always, Guardians Vault were extremely helpful and I recommend Dan's expertise to anyone!

Thanks Again

 

Unbelievable!!

Posted by JD on 4th Jun 2011

Well to be completely upfront i wasnt sure what to expect as ive never bought through this site before. I checked on ebay using the link on the home page and found this sword . I decided to buy one through ebay instead to be sure and am i glad i did!!
This is by far the best sword i own now!!
I was sceptical at first but the service was excellent and the owner very helpful to answer my questions - when i opened up the package i was suprised by the awesome detail and just how nice it was compared to the pictures.
The blade is unreal, the orange paint is exactly as shown in the closeup , and the katana iself was immaculate in every detail.
Thanks for this great katana, and thankyou to Dan for putting up with my questions;)
I will definitely be back!
John

 

Awesome!

Posted by ZSV on 20th May 2011

I recieved this sword today and love every aspect of it. The sword has great detail and the hammon suits the sword extremely well. The features of the saya are exactly as described and you can really understand why its so unique. The blade is very sharp and polished well. Overall, I was happy with postage and the always great service.

 

Wow!

Posted by ZSV on 3rd May 2011

I received this sword yesterday and all I can say is WOW! The moment I took it out of the packaging, it was everything I wanted. It's light, great colour and has good detail. Once you see the blade, thats a whole other story! Its very sharp, well polished and indescribable in words!
I was very happy with postage and the item was well packaged. Looking forward to future purchases!

 

very happy with Katana Stand

Posted by Anthony on 27th Apr 2011

I just wanted to say thanks for such a great Katana Stand. I received mine a few weeks ago and it looks great with my Katana Sword. Being able to choose the colour is so much better than the mass produced stands, you can customise it to compliment the colour of your Katana Sword. I am very happy with my Katana Stand, and will order more when I purchase another Katana Sword.

 

AAA+++ sword!! Fantastic seller, A1 communication, full star rating given!!!!!:) Buyer: 22-Jul-11 13:26
  Bushido Lineage / 1060CS / Full -Tang Samurai Katana  

 

FASTEST,FRIENDLY AND PROFESSIONAL ,Best ever 5 stars ***** ARIGATO Buyer: 21-Jun-11 12:04
  Hualee Natural Rosewood Katana / 1060CS

 

very good seller would buy off them again any time (excellent) Buyer: 09-Jun-11 00:09
  Hualee Rosewood Shirasaya /1060C /Samurai Katana

 

perfect! great service, excellent product, highly recommended! Buyer: 20-May-11 21:26
  Custom : Black Ronin / 1060CS / Unique Saya / Samurai  

 

Truely sick blade awesome cheers A+++ Buyer: 10-May-11 13:46
  Custom : Tokugawa Style Ninja-to Katana Dual Bo-Hi  

 

Awesome service, prompt and reliable service Buyer: 29-Apr-11 15:26
  Brown " Dancing Bushido" Samurai /Katana / 1055CS

 

Fantastic seller, was great help and communication was excellent, best service. Buyer: 27-Jan-11 21:55
  White "Sakura" Hand Made Samurai Katana 1055CS  

 

Very good to deal with and very informative. a pleasure. Buyer: 13-Dec-10 19:25
  Purple "Soyokaze" Soft Wind Hand Made Folded Katana

 

BRILLIANT! seller was a great help and goods were exactly as described Buyer: 26-Nov-10 23:10
  Ninja-to Katana Hand made full-tang Traditional style

 

Very Nice indeed. Thanks heaps. Highly recommended seller, great communication!! Buyer: 15-Oct-10 18:09
  Hand Made Japanese Redwood Ninja Katana T-10 Steel !!!!